Skip to Content

People in the News

DCEG staff members often receive scientific and professional society awards and recognition. In addition, they present their research at scientific conferences and participate in other events. Read about current DCEG people in the news below, and view an archive of past people in the news.

Sam Mbulaiteye Presents NIH Director's Seminar

In March 2015, Sam M. Mbulaiteye, MBChB, M.Phil., M.Med., presented his research on Burkitt lymphoma for the prestigious NIH Director's Seminar Series. Learn more about Dr. Mbulaiteye's NIH Director's Seminar.

Hormuzd Katki Awarded NIH Scientific Tenure

Hormuzd A. Katki, Ph.D., was recently awarded scientific tenure by the NIH. Dr. Katki develops and applies quantitative methods to identify and answer the most pressing questions in cancer epidemiology, and seeks to translate these findings into tools for the prevention and early detection of cancer in individuals and populations. Learn more about Dr. Katki.

DCEG Hosts Visiting Scholar Christopher Wild

In February 2015, the Division welcomed Christopher Wild, Ph.D., Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC), as a DCEG Visiting Scholar. Over the course of his two-day visit, Dr. Wild participated in two round-table discussions, a lunch discussion with current DCEG Fellows, and gave an inspiring keynote lecture entitled “Necessity is the mother of prevention: Responding to the growing cancer burden worldwide.” Read more about Dr. Christopher Wild's lecture.

Stephen Chanock Delivers the Jeffrey M. Trent Lecture in Cancer Research

In February 2015, Stephen J. Chanock, M.D., Director of DCEG, delivered the 11th annual Jeffrey M. Trent Lecture in Cancer Research. His lecture was titled "The Complexity of Genetic Susceptibility to Cancer". Learn more about Dr. Chanock's lecture.

DCEG Cohosts Workshop on Metabolomics in an Epidemiologic Consortium

In October 2014, DCEG partnered with the Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program in NCI's Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences to host a two-day workshop titled “Think Tank on Metabolomics and Prospective Cohorts: How to Leverage Resources.” Read more about the metabolomics workshop.

2015 NCI Intramural Scientific Retreat Highlights

On January 13, 2015, DCEG scientists participated in the annual NCI Intramural Scientific Investigators Retreat. Three DCEG tenure-track investigators were invited to give presentations highlighting their research. Stephen J. Chanock, M.D., Director of DCEG, and Robert H. Wiltrout, Ph.D, Director of the Center for Cancer Research, presented the 2014 NCI Director’s Innovation Awards, which are designed to support the development of novel approaches and technologies for accelerating cancer research. In addition, the Women Scientist Advisors Mentoring and Leadership awards were presented. Read the details on the 2015 NCI Intramural Scientific Investigators Retreat.

Amy Berrington de González Appointed Chief of the Radiation Epidemiology Branch

On December 19, 2014, Amy Berrington de González, D.Phil., was named Chief of the Radiation Epidemiology Branch (REB). Dr. Berrington is an internationally recognized expert in the field of cancer risk from medical radiation exposure. Read more about Dr. Berrington de González.

Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson Awarded NIH Scientific Tenure

Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson, Ph.D., was recently awarded scientific tenure by the NIH. Dr. Prokunina-Olsson studies the underlying molecular mechanisms of genetic susceptibility to cancer and explores possible translational applications for these findings. Learn more about Dr. Prokunina-Olsson’s research.

Dr. Besson-Maury Investigates Effect of Chronic Viral Infections on Lymphoma Risk as DCEG Guest Researcher

Dr. Caroline Besson-Maury recently joined the Infections and Immunoepidemiology Branch (IIB) as a guest researcher. She will be working with IIB investigators on lymphomagenic infections, particularly HIV, Epstein-Barr virus, and hepatitis C virus. Her sabbatical is supported by a Monahan scholarship through the Franco-American Fulbright Commission. Read more about Dr. Besson-Maury.

Neal Freedman Appointed Principal Investigator of PLCO Cohort Study

Neal Freedman, Ph.D., has been appointed as DCEG’s principal investigator for the Prostate, Lung, Colon, and Ovary (PLCO) Cohort Study, a long-term follow-up study of participants in the PLCO Screening Trial. Resources from PLCO support a range of molecular epidemiologic studies. Read more about Dr. Freedman's appointment.

DCEG Hosts Workshop on Microbiome Quality Control

DCEG recently hosted the first workshop to review findings from the MicroBiome Quality Control (MBQC) Project. The MBQC Project is a collaborative effort to comprehensively evaluate appropriate methodologies for this growing field of research, including variability in microbial assessment in sampling handling (including DNA extraction, DNA amplification, and sequencing) and bioinformatics. Read more about the Microbiome Quality Control Workshop.

View an archive of past people in the news.