Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

Radiation Epidemiology Branch Professional Service and Awards

Editorial Service

Radiation Epidemiology Branch senior staff members mentor junior staff, visiting fellows, and students, serve as journal reviewers, and are editors or members of editorial boards:

  • Dr. Linet (JNCI, American Journal of Epidemiology)
  • Dr. Simon (Health Physics) and Dr. Gilbert (International Journal of Radiation Biology).
  • Drs. Gilbert, Land, and Mabuchi have participated in IARC monographs.
  • Dr. Inskip was a member of the FDA Center for Radiological Health panel.

NIH Committee Service

Branch staff are active on NIH, NCI and DCEG committees.

  • Dr. Linet is a member of the DCEG Senior Advisory Group.
  • Dr. Brenner serves on the Committee of Scientists.
  • Drs. Sigurdson and Morton have recently served as members of the Biorespository Committee.
  • Drs. Morton and Sigurdson have served on the Genetics Review Committee.
  • Drs. Berrington and Morton have recently served on the Technical Evaluation of Protocols Committee.

International and National Radiation Committee Service

REB senior scientists have particularly heavy responsibilities associated with radiation committee work that involves substantial time commitments.

  • Drs. Linet and Simon are members of the National Council on Radiation Protection (NCRP).
  • Drs. Gilbert, Linet, and Simon have served on NCRP special committees that require writing comprehensive reports that are needed by the radiation protection community. These reports, which are often sponsored by U.S. governmental agencies such as EPA, take several years to complete.
  • Dr. Sigurdson has served as a member of Committee 1 of the International Commission on Radiation Protection (ICRP). Membership is for a four-year term and entails not only writing critical reports but also data analysis.
  • Drs. Inskip and Mabuchi had major responsibility for writing the epidemiology and dosimetry reports of UNSCEAR 2000 and 2008.
  • Dr. Gilbert served as a member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Committee on Health Risks of Exposure to Radiation (BEIR VII).