Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

NIH Recognizes 2015 FARE Winners

The NIH Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) recognizes scientific research by intramural postdoctoral fellows and by predoctoral fellows conducting their doctoral dissertation research at NIH. Winners receive a $1,000 travel stipend to attend and present their work at a scientific meeting. The names of this year's DCEG awardees, along with the titles of their abstracts, are listed below.

Bari Ballew, Ph.D.
“Dyskeratosis congenita caused by a TEL patch mutation in TPP1

Jason Hoskins, Ph.D.
“Functional analysis of the chr13q22.1 pancreatic cancer risk locus suggests allele-specific effects on DIS3 expression with prognostic implications”

Maki Inoue-Choi, Ph.D., M.S.
“Ingestion of nitrate and nitrite from drinking water and diet: A prospective analysis of epithelial ovarian cancer risk among postmenopausal women in Iowa”

Krystle Kuhs, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Reduced prevalence of vulvar HPV16/18 infection among women who received the bivalent vaccine: A nested analysis within the Costa Rica Vaccine Trial”

Catherine Lerro, M.P.H.
“Use of acetochlor and cancer incidence in the Agricultural Health Study Cohort”

Jason Liu, Sc.D.
“Subsequent gastrointestinal cancer risks of childhood and early adulthood cancer survivors”

Leticia Nogueira, Ph.D., M.P.H. (former fellow)
“Self-rated health and biomarker risk profile: Impact on the measurement of racial/ethnic health disparities in the U.S.”

Elizabeth Yanik, Ph.D.
“Oral leukoplakia, risk of oral cancer, and oral cancer outcomes among elderly adults in the U.S.”

Han Zhang, Ph.D.
“A fast and powerful tree-based association test for detecting complex joint effects in case-control studies”