Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

Fraumeni Inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

November 2011 - Linkage Newsletter

A photo of Joseph Fraumeni signing the American Academy of Arts and Sciences’ Book of Members, a tradition that dates back to 1780, as he is inducted at Sanders Theatre, Harvard University.In October, DCEG Director Joseph F. Fraumeni, Jr., M.D., was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The Academy's members include some of the world's most accomplished leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities, and the arts.

Since it was founded in 1780 by John Adams, James Bowdoin, John Hancock, and other scholar-patriots, the Academy has served as both an honorary society and a leading center for independent policy research. Its members have included George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill in the 20th century. The current membership comprises more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners. This year's 212 inductees included two other NIH scientists, Gisela T. Storz, Ph.D., of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, and Okihide Hikosaka, M.D., Ph.D., of the National Eye Institute, as well as jazz musician Dave Brubeck, documentary filmmaker Kenneth L. Burns, actor Daniel Day-Lewis, musician Bob Dylan, Dean of Harvard School of Public Health Julio Frenk, actor Helen Mirren, and singer-songwriter Paul Simon.

In recognition of his epidemiologic and multidisciplinary research into the environmental and genetic determinants of cancer, Dr. Fraumeni has received many honors, most recently the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association for Cancer Research and the Medal of Honor from the American Cancer Society. Dr. Fraumeni also is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine, and the Association of American Physicians.