Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

DCEG Honorees at NCI Director's Award Ceremony

At the NCI Director’s Awards ceremony in November, several DCEG staff members received NIH Merit Awards and Service Certificates.

Group Merit Awards

The Children and Family Studies Group, including Martha Linet, M.D., Chief of the Radiation Epidemiology Branch, received a Group Merit Award for scientific leadership and persistent effort to conduct high quality epidemiologic research, provide training to build cancer research capacity, and to foster collaboration with Chinese scientists.

The IFNL4 Discovery Group, including Thomas R. O’Brien, M.D., M.P.H., Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson, Ph.D., and Wei Tang, Ph.D., was recognized for the discovery of a new human interferon gene and its common genetic variant that affects clearance of hepatitis C infection.

The Chernobyl Study Team, which included Andre Bouville, Ph.D., Alina Brenner, M.D., Ph.D., Elizabeth Khaykin Cahoon, Ph.D., Vladimir Drozdovitch, Ph.D., Maureen Hatch, Ph.D., Mark Little, D.Phil., Jay Lubin, Ph.D., Kiyohiko Mabuchi, M.D., Dr.P.H., Evgenia Ostroumova, M.D., Ph.D., and Abigail Ukwuani, M.P.A., received a Group Merit Award for path-breaking studies of thyroid cancer in persons exposed at young ages to fallout and of leukemia in radiation-exposed clean-up workers following the Chernobyl accident.

The NCI Federal Cohort Consortium Secretariat Members Group, including Patricia Hartge, Sc.D., Robert Hoover, M.D., Sc.D., Director of the Epidemiology and Biostatistics Program, and Geoffrey Tobias, was recognized for outstanding and sustained scientific and managerial leadership of the NCI Cohort Consortium.

In addition, many DCEG staff received NCI Appreciation Awards in recognition of outstanding services to NCI as move coordinators for the 2013 relocation to the NCI Shady Grove facility. DCEG move coordinators included Bridget Bell, Renée Bremer, M.S., Sandra Brown, Gabriela Cadena, David Check, Christine Crawford, Prisca Fall-Keita, M.A., Jecholia Gallagher, Armen Ghazarian, M.P.H., Sadie Holmes-Lillie, Ka Lai Lou, Ingrid Navard, Jenna Nober, Mila Oasan, Barbara Rogers, Tawanda Roy, Alyssa Voss, M.P.H., and Tricia Wilkerson.

DCEG Length of Service Certificates

Several Length of Service certificates were awarded to DCEG staff:

Forty years of service: Catherine McClave, M.S., Chief of the Office of Communications and Special Initiatives

Thirty years of service: Roni Falk, M.S., and Kristin Kiser, M.H.A., M.S.

Twenty years of service: Michelle Lathrop

Ten years of service: Rachael Stolzenberg-Solomon, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.

Back to the Spring 2014 issue of Linkage.