Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

2014 DCEG Intramural Research Awards

DCEG Intramural Research Awards (IRAs) are competitive funding opportunities designed to foster creative, high-impact research by fellows and tenure-track investigators. Proposals are evaluated on their potential for significant scientific or public health impact, innovation, interdisciplinary nature, ability to achieve the objectives within the proposed time frames and with the proposed resources, and programmatic relevance to DCEG’s mission.

IRA winners Jonathan Hofmann, Ashley Felix, Krystle Kuhs, and Anand Pathak with Stephen Chanock. (Not shown: Bari Ballew and Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson)

From the many excellent proposals submitted for IRAs in 2014, the following lead investigators and their proposals were selected:

Bari Ballew, Ph.D.
“Understanding gene regulation in the context of molecular aging and cancer predisposition”

Ashley Felix, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“The sequence of genetic mutations in endometrial hyperplasia and invasive carcinoma”

Jonathan Hofmann, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Circulating adiponectin levels and future progression from MGUS to multiple myeloma”

Krystle Kuhs, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Determining the sensitivity of the HPV 16 E6 serologic biomarker for the detection of HPV-driven oropharyngeal cancers”

Anand Pathak, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Identification of plasma microRNA biomarkers for the development of a screening approach for lung adenocarcinoma in current smokers in the EAGLE study”

Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson, Ph.D.
“Investigation of the role of interferon lambda 4 (IFN- λ4) in EBV-induced cancers such as Burkitt’s lymphoma”