Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

Staff Recognized at 2017 Spring DCEG Town Hall Meeting

Posted on June 02, 2017

In May, DCEG Director Stephen Chanock, M.D., and Deputy Director Montserrat García-Closas, M.D., Dr. P.H., welcomed staff to the spring town hall meeting to talk about new developments in the Division, and to recognize accomplishments over the past six months. Dr. Chanock gave special tribute to staff who have made substantial scientific contributions and service to the Division. He also recognized several retiring senior investigators.

Fellowship Achievement Award recipients with Dr. Chanock (from left): Daphnée Villoing, Pavel Chernyavskiy, Catherine Lerro, Mary Playdon, Alison Van Dyke, Kara Michels, and Andriy Derkach. (Not shown: Ana Best, Joseph Tota, and Youjin Wang)

Fellowship Achievement Awards

Fellowship Achievement Awards, which come with a stipend increase at the next appointment renewal, honored fellows who excelled during the past year. Recipients include: Ana Best, Ph.D., Pavel Chernyavskiy, Ph.D., Andriy Derkach, Ph.D., Catherine Lerro, Ph.D., M.P.H, Kara Michels, Ph.D., Mary Playdon, Ph.D., M.P.H., Joseph Tota, Ph.D., Alison Van Dyke, M.D., Ph.D., Daphnée Villoing, Ph.D., and Youjin Wang, Ph.D.

Outstanding Research Papers of 2016

Awards for DCEG Outstanding Research Papers of 2016 were given to fellows and staff scientists or staff clinicians. The DCEG Senior Advisory Group judged the competition based on the papers' impact, innovation, and clarity of thought and language.

Outstanding Research Paper recipients with Dr. Chanock (from left): Maki Inoue Choi, Julia Gage, Maeve Mullooly, Abdul Rouf Banday, Lisa Cahoon, Rena Jones, and Mitchell Machiela.

Outstanding Research Paper by a Fellow

Abdul Rouf Banday, Ph.D.
"Association of Germline Variants in the APOBEC3 Region with Cancer Risk and Enrichment with APOBEC-Signature Mutations in Tumors.” Nature Genetics

Elizabeth K. Cahoon, Ph.D., S.M., M.H.S.
“Ultraviolet Radiation and Kaposi Sarcoma Incidence in a Nationwide U.S. Cohort of HIV-Infected Men.” Journal of the National Cancer Institute

Rena Jones, Ph.D., M.S.
“Nitrate from Drinking Water and Diet and Bladder Cancer Among Postmenopausal Women in Iowa.” Environmental Health Perspectives

Scott Kelly, Ph.D.
“Prediagnostic Body Mass Index Trajectories in Relation to Prostate Cancer Incidence and Mortality in the PLCO Cancer Screening Trial.” Journal of the National Cancer Institute

Mitchell Machiela, Sc.D., M.P.H.
“Mosaic Loss of Chromosome Y is Associated with Common Variation Near TCL1A.” Nature Genetics

Maeve Mullooly, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Mammographic Density as a Biosensor of Tamoxifen Effectiveness in Adjuvant Endocrine Treatment of Breast Cancer: Opportunities and Implications.” Journal of Clinical Oncology

Outstanding Research Paper by a Staff Scientist or Staff Clinician

Julia Gage, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“Similar Risk Patterns After Cervical Screening in Two Large U.S. Populations: Implications for Clinical Guidelines.” Obstetrics & Gynecology

Maki Inoue Choi, Ph.D., M.S., R.D.
“Association of Long-Term, Low-Intensity Smoking with All-Cause and Cause-Specific Mortality in the National Institutes of Health–AARP Diet and Health Study.” JAMA Internal Medicine

Intramural Research Award recipients with Dr. Chanock (from left): Diana Withrow, Lisa Cahoon, Clara Bodelon, David Borrego, Megan Clarke, and Lisa McReynolds.

DCEG Intramural Research Awards

Intramural Research Awards (IRAs) are competitive funding opportunities designed to foster creative, high-impact research by fellows and tenure-track investigators. Proposals are evaluated on their potential for significant scientific or public health impact, innovation, interdisciplinary nature, ability to achieve the objectives within the proposed time frames and with the proposed resources, and programmatic relevance to DCEG’s mission. Out of the many excellent proposals submitted, six proposals were selected. Read more about the winning 2017 IRA proposals.

FLEX Program Award

FLEX program award recipient

Kevin Brown

The FLEX Program Award is a joint CCR-DCEG competitive research funding opportunity to promote innovation and technology development while fostering collaborations across the NCI Intramural Research Program. Senior staff within the DCEG Office of the Director and the CCR Science Board reviewed the projects and selected those deemed to be highly innovative, with the potential to make a significant scientific impact.

Kevin Brown, Ph.D., received the Flex award for the project “Leveraging Melanoma Mouse Models for Functional Study of Melanoma Risk Genes.” His co-investigator in CCR is Glenn Merlino.

DCEG Informatics Tool Challenge

The DCEG Informatics Tool Challenge was designed to stimulate awareness and adoption of new internet and informatics technologies to improve effectiveness and efficiency throughout DCEG’s research portfolio. Proposals were evaluated for their innovative use of technology to address a specific research need, the ability for the project to be completed within one year of initiation, and the cost, which was not to exceed $20,000. Seven proposals were reviewed by a DCEG committee for utility to epidemiologic and genetic research; five were selected. Read more about the winning proposals for the 2017 Informatics Tool Challenge.

2017 Outstanding mentor

Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson

Outstanding Mentor Award

Mentoring is a core value of the Division; DCEG fellows nominate and vote for the Outstanding Mentor Award annually. This year, Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson, Ph.D., was selected in recognition of her exceptional commitment to the growth and productivity of junior scientists, as exemplified by the following comment, “As her fellows, we believe that Dr. Prokunina-Olsson demonstrates many admirable qualities that make her a remarkable role model. Her brilliance, passionate nature, and enthusiasm for research make her an exceptional mentor. She inspires us to pursue our career goals and guides us in our pursuit of these endeavors.”

Special Appreciation Awards

Special Appreciation recipients with Dr. Chanock (from left): William Anderson, Ruth Kleinerman, Allan Hildesheim, Karen Berliner, Lynn Goldin, and Philip Taylor. (Not shown: Mindy Kaufman)

Each year, the Division recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond the regular call of duty and provided a tremendous service to their office, branch, or the Division as a whole. This year, seven individuals were selected to receive this award: William Anderson, M.D., M.P.H., Karen Berliner, Ph.D., Lynn Goldin, Ph.D., Mindy Kaufman, Ruth Kleinerman, M.P.H., Ph.D., Philip Taylor, M.D., Sc.D., and Allan Hildesheim, Ph.D. Dr. Hildesheim received special recognition and thanks for “dedicated and exemplary service to the Institute as the Chief of the Infections and Immunoepidemiology Branch, DCEG.”