Skip to Content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

2018 DCEG Intramural Research Awards

Posted on June 22, 2018

DCEG Intramural Research Awards (IRAs) are competitive funding opportunities designed to foster creative, high-impact research by fellows and tenure-track investigators. Proposals are evaluated on their potential for significant scientific or public health impact, innovation, interdisciplinary nature, ability to achieve the objectives within the proposed time frames and with the proposed resources, and programmatic relevance to DCEG’s mission.

Out of the many excellent proposals submitted for IRAs this year, the following proposals were selected for award:

  • Mustapha Abubakar, M.D., Ph.D. “Application of digital pathology to characterize breast tumor microenvironment and its relationship with risk and survival”
  • Tamara Litwin, Ph.D., M.P.H. “A systematic evaluation of cellular immune markers using automated image analysis in cervical carcinogenesis”
  • Kara Michels, Ph.D. and Britton Trabert, Ph.D. “Lipid droplet accumulation across histologic subtypes of endometrial carcinoma”
  • Jessica Petrick, Ph.D., M.P.H. “What are the carcinogenic mechanisms underlying the premalignant lesion of esophageal adenocarcinoma? The relevance of the oral myco‐ and microbiome in Barrett’s esophagus”
  • Maisa Pinheiro, Ph.D. and Lisa Mirabello, Ph.D. “Integrative analysis of HPV and human genome sequence data to evaluate host and viral interaction in cervical carcinogenicity”
  • Sabrina Tsang, Ph.D., M.P.H. “Evaluation of heterogeneity in HPV vaccine efficacy by cross-protected HPV variant lineages in the Costa Rica HPV Vaccine Trial (CVT)”
  • Fang Wang, Ph.D. “Genetic and functional regulation of the innate immune response to HPV infection: the crosstalk between APOBECs and Interferons”