Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

About the Inclusivity Minute Email Project

The Inclusivity Minute Email Project is a joint effort between the DCEG Fellows Committee and the Office of the Director to cultivate a culture of inclusion in the Division. The goal is to introduce DCEG staff to topics related to diversity and inclusion that they might not already be familiar with and to provide resources to learn more.

We all come to DCEG with different backgrounds and experiences. The Inclusivity Minute aims to spark conversation and inquiry.

Why an email?

In 2017, the NCI offered a training on Unconscious Bias, which was attended by many across the Division. Afterwards, the DCEG Fellows Committee received some feedback that those who might benefit most from the training had not attended, a phenomenon that has been observed elsewhere (Kulik et al. The rich get richer: Predicting participation in voluntary diversity training. J Organiz Behav).

In 2018, the DCEG Fellows Survey revealed that 13 percent of respondents have been made to feel uncomfortable or witnessed others being made to feel uncomfortable in the DCEG workplace because of their gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, race, religion, or other personal qualities.

Spurred by these findings, the Fellows Committee proposed a series of short, DCEG-specific email messages to both complement the Unconscious Bias training and reach a broader audience.

How are the topics selected?

Topics are proposed by DCEG fellows and are presented and discussed during monthly DCEG Fellows Committee meetings. The DCEG Fellows Committee consists of Inclusivity Minute co-chairs who coordinate feedback and make the final selection for topics, prioritizing those that may not otherwise be covered by NIH- and NCI-wide emails. 

What is the writing/review process?

Any DCEG Fellow can propose topics and volunteer as a contributing author for the Inclusivity Minute. The Inclusivity Minute co-chairs partner with contributing authors in the writing, review, and publication process. Each Inclusivity Minute is reviewed by the DCEG Fellows Committee, the DCEG Office of Education, the DCEG Communications team, and the DCEG Division Director.

Inclusivity Minute Contributing Authors

  • Rotana Alsagaff , Ph.D., M.S.
  • Joshua D. Arias, M.S.
  • Francine Baker, M.S.
  • David Borrego, Ph.D.*
  • Jalen Brown, B.S.
  • Loretto J. Carvajal, M.D., M.Sc.
  • Monica D'Arcy, Ph.D.
  • Alexandra Harris, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S.
  • Sarah Jackson, Ph.D.
  • Ilona Argirion Kabara, Ph.D., M.P.H.
  • Wayne Lawrence, Dr.P.H.
  • Brittany Lord, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H.*
  • Brittny Davis Lynn, Ph.D., M.P.H.*
  • Jessica M. Madrigal, Ph.D.
  • Cherrel Manley, M.S.P.H.*
  • Waruiru Mburu, Ph.D., M.P.H.
  • Jennifer McGee-Avila, Ph.D., M.P.H., C.H.E.S., C.P.H.
  • Cody Ramin, Ph.D.
  • Jongeun Rhee, Sc.D., M.S.*
  • Jaimie Z. Shing, Ph.D., M.P.H.
  • Jacqueline Vo, Ph.D., R.N., M.P.H.
  • Jeanny Wang, M.P.H.*
  • Diana Withrow, Ph.D., M.Sc.*

* Indicates that the contributing author has previously served as co-chair.

If you would like to become a contributing author or participate in the review process, please reach out to Jackie Lavigne in the Office of Education or the current co-chairs, Alexandra Harris and Jongeun Rhee, on the DCEG Fellows Committee.

Please share any and all feedback and suggestions via our anonymous form.

Where can I go for more resources?

Resources on each specific topic are provided in the emails. In general, more information on issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion can be found at the NIH Office of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion and the NCI Equity and Inclusion Program