Skip to main content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

DCEG Women Scientist Advisors (WSA)

DCEG places a special emphasis on the inclusion and promotion of women in science. Female investigators in the Division elect Women Scientist Advisors (WSAs) to represent the interests of their fellow women scientists, raise awareness of issues facing women scientists, and to work towards improving women's representation in the faculty of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) at all levels. WSAs focus on supporting and promoting career development across the career span.

To recognize outstanding women in science, the NCI WSA sponsor the Rosalind E. Franklin Award and Lecture at the annual NCI Intramural Retreat, and the WSA Mentoring and Leadership Award, which recognizes men and women scientists in the NCI community who have shown strong support, scientific leadership, and/or direct mentoring to women scientists leading to professional scientific and career achievement of women scientists at the National Cancer Institute.

To learn more about the history of the WSA at NIH, vist the NIH Women Scientist Advisors Committee website.

The current DCEG WSAs are:

Aimée R. Kreimer, Ph.D., senior investigator. Three-year term (2021-2024).

Laura Beane Freeman, Ph.D., senior investigator. Two-year term (2020-2022).

Marie-Josèphe Horner, Ph.D., staff scientist. Three-year term (2019-2022).


If you have questions or concerns for a WSA representative, contact any of the above, or contact the NCI WSA via their general mailbox: