Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

2022 CCR-DCEG Flex Awards Announced

, by Jennifer K. Loukissas, M.P.P.

The CCR-DCEG Collaborative Award is a means for NCI Intramural investigators to work across Divisions with support for high-risk, high-impact collaborative projects in the area of cancer mechanism, diagnosis, prognosis, susceptibility, predisposition, or prevention. This year, a new health disparities award was initiated.

Scientific directors from the Center for Cancer Research (CCR) and DCEG announced the 2022 projects awarded FLEX Awards. Consistent with the NCI commitment to addressing health equity, two of these address important cancer health disparities.


MT Landi, Jiyeon Choi, Tongwu Zhang

Maria T Landi, Jiyeon Choi, Tongwu Zhang

Chongyi Chen (CCR), Jiyeon Choi, Ph.D., M.S., Maria Teresa Landi, M.D., Ph.D., and Tongwu Zhang, Ph.D.

“Study of tumor evolution and cell-of-origin of lung cancer in never-smokers by single-cell sequencing”

Health Disparities Award

Gretchen Gierach

Gretchen Gierach

Stefan Ambs (CCR) and Gretchen Gierach, Ph.D, M.P.H.

“Investigation of the immune microenvironment landscape in tumor and normal breast tissues from women of African ancestry through an integrated single-cell and computational pathology approach”

Lisa Mirabello, Aimee Kreimer, Mark Schiffman

Lisa Mirabello, Aimée Kreimer, Mark Schiffman

Doug Lowy (CCR), Aimée R. Kreimer, Ph.D., John T. Schiller (CCR), Ligia Pinto (Frederick National Laboratory), Lisa Mirabello, Ph.D., M.S., and Mark Schiffman, M.D., M.P.H.

“HPV vaccines against HPV35-associated cancer to improve protection for women of African ancestry“


< Older Post

Making Strides Toward Precision Medicine for Individuals with Li-Fraumeni Syndrome

Newer Post >

Laura Beane Freeman Re-elected to Second Term as Women Scientist Advisor