Skip to main content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

2022 Intramural Research Awards

, by Maura Kate Costello, M.A.

headshots of IRA winners 2022

Zeinab Farhat, Michael Sargen, Alexandra Harris, Yukiko Yano, Sarah Jackson

DCEG Intramural Research Awards (IRAs) are competitive funding opportunities designed to foster creative, high-impact research by fellows and tenure-track investigators. Proposals are evaluated on their potential for significant scientific or public health impact, innovation, interdisciplinary nature, ability to achieve the objectives within the proposed time frames and with the proposed resources, and programmatic relevance to DCEG’s mission.

The following proposals were selected for a 2022 IRA:

  • Zeinab Farhat, Ph.D., M.P.H.- “Associations of plasma microbial metabolites with colorectal cancer risk among individuals with Lynch syndrome”
  • Yukiko Yano, Ph.D., M.P.H.- “Profiling serum antibodies to periodontal bacteria associated with esophageal cancer”
  • Michael Sargen, M.D.- “The genetic etiology of atypical spitzoidneoplasms in children and adolescents”
  • Alexandra Harris, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S.: “Investigation of molecular and pathologic features associated with benign breast precursor lesions and risk of progression to breast cancer”
  • Sarah Jackson, Ph.D.- “Study to compare self-collected to clinician-collected samples for HPV testing and methylation triage in transmasculine individuals”
< Older Post

Amy Berrington Appointed Vice Chair of the National Academies Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board

Newer Post >

Marianne Henderson Receives 2022 ISBER Pioneer’s Award

If you would like to reproduce some or all of this content, see Reuse of NCI Information for guidance about copyright and permissions. In the case of permitted digital reproduction, please credit the National Cancer Institute as the source and link to the original NCI product using the original product's title; e.g., “2022 Intramural Research Awards was originally published by the National Cancer Institute.”