Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

NCI Director's Awards Ceremony 2023, DCEG Staff Recognized

, by Maura Kate Costello, M.A.

Text reads: NIH National Cancer Institute 2023 Director's Awards

On April 3, 2024, several staff from the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics (DCEG) were honored for their service and achievements at the 2023 NCI Director’s Awards ceremony.

Champion Awards from the NCI Office of the Director

Debra Silverman, Sc.D.    
Category: Career/Lifetime Achievement        
For outstanding scientific acumen, leadership, and service, contributions to the etiology of cancer, and discoveries to inform regulatory standards and protect workers and the public.

Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, Ph.D., as part of NCI's Artificial Intelligence Administrative Agreement Team
Category: Making an Impact
For NCI’s efforts in driving the implementation of the Artificial Intelligence Administrative Arrangement (AI AA) between the United States and the European Union 

Alexandra Harris, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S., Courtney Dill, Ph.D., M.S.C.R., M.S., Jennifer McGee-Avila, Ph.D., M.P.H., C.H.E.S., C.P.H., and Kathryn Kundrod, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Category: Outstanding Mentor 
In recognition of service as mentors for growing professional opportunities, expanding orientation/onboarding activities, and promoting wellness for new fellows

Waruiru Mburu, Ph.D., M.P.H., and John (Jack) Murphy, Ph.D., M.P.H., as part of The Architects of the NCI Global Health Interest Group
Category: Emerging Leader
In recognition of the contribution to the architects of the first trans-NCI, fellow-led group serving early-career scientist interested in global cancer research.

Sara Schonfeld, Ph.D.    
Category: Leading Diversity        
For exceptional dedication to the principles of diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility in every aspect of her work.

Jackie Lavigne, Ph.D., M.P.H., as part of the  Cancer Moonshot Scholars program (CMSp) Team    
Category: Leading Diversity    
For the implementation of an impactful program that is critically important to address challenges associated with a lack of diversity.

Scientific Awards from the NCI Office of the Director

Jill Barnholtz-Sloan, Ph.D., as part of The Cancer Research Data Commons Team
Category: Other Scientific Areas
For scientific excellence toward the mission of the NCI to impact individuals with cancer and contribution towards a trans-NCI and trans-NIH federated data ecosystem

Scott Lawrence, M.S., as part of the Standardized Master Metadata Schema Working Group       
Category: Data Science    
For outstanding collaboration and support in establishing a standardized master metadata schema for Microscopy Imaging Applications.

DCEG Awards for Administrative/ Technical Support

Jackie Lavigne, Ph.D., M.P.H., Cara Murray, B.A., Diane Wigfield, B.S., as members of the DCEG Fellows' Hub Creation Group
For exceptionally creative work curating information for, building, and evaluating a comprehensive site of resources that contribute to the success of all fellows in the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics
Lauren Buck, B.S., Cecilia Higgs, M.H.S., Mary Lou McMaster, M.D., as members of the DCEG Ethical Review Process Team
For leading an effective transition to new ethical review processes following NIHs move to a centralized Institutional Review Board

Length of Service

40 Years: Demetrius Albanes, M.D.
20 Years: Neelam Giri, M.D., M.B.B.S. and Montserrat Garcia-Closas, M.D., M.P.H., Dr.P.H.
10 Years: Matthew M. Mille, Ph.D.