Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Lesley Chapman Hannah and Brittany Lord Receive Eddie Méndez Scholar Award

, by DCEG Staff

Lesley Chapman Hannah and Brittany Lord

Lesley Chapman Hannah and Brittany Lord, 2022 Eddie Méndez Award recipients.

Two fellows will receive the Eddie Méndez Scholar Award from the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. Lesley Chapman Hannah, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow and iCURE scholar in the Clinical Genetics Branch, and Brittany Lord, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S., postdoctoral fellow in the Integrative Tumor Epidemiology Branch, have been selected as members of the fourth cohort of awardees.

In 2019, Fred Hutch leadership created the Eddie Méndez Scholar Award to extend his commitment to supporting early-career scientists, particularly those from underrepresented racial and ethnic backgrounds. The award recognizes outstanding postdoctoral fellows who are conducting cancer, infectious disease, or basic science research and are from backgrounds that are underrepresented in science.

Drs. Chapman Hannah and Lord will present at a scientific symposium honoring Dr. Méndez in September 2022 and will have the opportunity to meet with Fred Hutch faculty and senior leaders.