Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

2022 NCI Director's Intramural Innovation Awards

, by Justine E. Yu, Ph.D.

The NCI Director’s Intramural Innovation Award Program is designed to support development of highly innovative approaches and technology aimed at significant cancer–related problems. Winning proposals showed potential for significant scientific or public health impact, as well as approach, innovation, and programmatic relevance to the mission of the Division. Recipients will use their awards in the following fiscal year. Five DCEG scientists received these awards for 2022.

Photo collage of 5 people

Ian Buller, Erping Long, Zeni Wu, Tongwu Zhang, and Wei Zhao

Ian Buller, Ph.D., M.A.
“A new paradigm for environmental exposure assessment involving multiple chemicals: Incorporating spatial components into mixture models for investigations of associated cancer risks”

Erping Long, M.D., Ph.D.
“Elucidating the genetic mechanisms of lung cancer susceptibility via simultaneous single-cell profiling of transcriptome and chromatin accessibility in human lung”

Zeni Wu, Ph.D., M.P.H.
“The oral microbiome and the risk of breast cancer: A nested case-control study in the NIH-AARP Diet and Health Study”

Tongwu Zhang, Ph.D.
“Tracking lung cancer evolution through normal tissue by oligo-cell DNA sequencing: A pilot study”

Wei Zhao, Ph.D.
“Pilot investigation of cell-of-origins, stem-like programs and tumor microenvironment in lung tumorigenesis in never smokers by single-nucleus RNA sequencing”

< Older Post

2021 NCI Director’s Award Ceremony, DCEG Staff Recognized

Newer Post >

Study Suggests HPV Vaccine Would Prevent Most Cervical Cancers/Precancers Across Major U.S. Racial/Ethnic Groups