Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

2021 NCI Director’s Award Ceremony, DCEG Staff Recognized

, by Justine E. Yu, Ph.D.

Text reads NIH National Cancer Institute 2021 Director's Awards with a sparkly background

On February 14, 2022, several staff from the Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics (DCEG) were honored for their service at the 2021 NCI Director’s Awards ceremony.

Ka Lai Lou
For serving as acting executive secretary for the Division Scientific Review Committees

Amy Berrington de González, D.Phil., and Montserrat García-Closas, M.D., Dr.Ph.
For leadership in developing the 2020-2025 DCEG Strategic Plan

Jonathan Hofmann, Ph.D., M.P.H.
For scientific advances in our understanding of the etiology and natural history of multiple myeloma and its precursor, monoclonal gammopathy of undetermined significance (MGUS).

Qing Lan, M.D., Ph.D., M.P.H.
In recognition of leadership of a series of studies that have greatly informed the understanding of the etiology of nonsmoking-related lung cancer.

Derek Brown, Ph.D., Eric Engels, M.D., Shu-Hong Lin, Ph.D., and Mitchell Machiela, Sc.D.
In recognition of a landmark investigation of mosaic chromosomal alterations and risk of acquiring infectious disease.

Marianne Henderson, M.S.
For outstanding leadership of the US-Latin America Cancer Research Network (LACRN) and a five-country breast cancer cohort study: The United States – Latin America Cancer Research Network Team.

Allan Hildesheim, Ph.D. and Aimeé Kreimer, Ph.D.
For exemplary efforts in the award of the COVID-19 Household Transmission Study.

Amy Berrington de González, D.Phil., Constanza Camargo, Ph.D., Anil Chaturvedi, Ph.D., Montserrat García-Closas, M.D., Dr.P.H., Jackie Lavigne, Ph.D., Jennifer Loukissas, M.P.P., Sam Mbulaiteye, MBChB, M.Phil., M.Med., and Meredith Shiels, Ph.D.
For outstanding dedication and collaboration in launching the Equity and Inclusion Program to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion across NCI and the cancer research community: NCI’s Equity and Inclusion Group.

Derek Brown, Ph.D., Ian Buller, Ph.D., Naoise Synnott, Ph.D., and Jacqueline Vo, Ph.D., R.N.
Champion Award: Cancer Prevention Fellowship Program’s Fellow Advisory Board Team: In recognition of leadership of the CPFP's Fellows Advisory Board, spearheading innovative opportunities for fellows to develop skills and community during the COVID-19 pandemic.

< Older Post

Study Suggests HPV Vaccine Would Prevent Most Cervical Cancers/Precancers Across Major U.S. Racial/Ethnic Groups

Newer Post >

President’s Cancer Panel Addresses Gaps in Cancer Screening for All Americans