Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

2024 Intramural Research Award Winners in DCEG

, by Maura Kate Costello, M.A.

2024 DCEG winners of the intramural research awards: Drs. Kamenetsky, Mendez, Rising, and Yano.

From left to right: Drs. Kamenetsky, Mendez, Rising, and Yano.

DCEG Intramural Research Awards (IRAs) are competitive funding opportunities designed to foster creative, high-impact research by fellows and tenure-track investigators. Proposals are evaluated on their potential for significant scientific or public health impact, innovation, interdisciplinary nature, ability to achieve the objectives within the time frames and with the resources proposed, and programmatic relevance to DCEG’s mission.

The 2024 winners are:

Maria E. Kamenetsky, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow, Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch: "The Role of Mixtures on Bladder Cancer Risk Across Space: An Examination Using Flexible Bayesian Quantile G-Computation"

Kyra J. W. Mendez, Ph.D., M.P.H., B.S.N., postdoctoral fellow, Clinical Genetics Branch: "Epigenetic aging, its risk factors, and association with outcomes after hematopoietic cell transplant in acute myeloid leukemia"

Camella Rising, Ph.D., M.S., R.D.N., research fellow, Clinical Genetics Branch: "A patient-centered pilot intervention to improve biopsychosocial and behavioral outcomes among young adults with Li-Fraumeni syndrome"

Yukiko Yano, Ph.D., M.P.H., independent research scholar, Metabolic Epidemiology Branch: "Microbial markers for early detection of gastric cancer in Chile"