Skip to main content
Discovering the causes of cancer and the means of prevention

DCEG Plays an Active Role in the Fall 2016 NIH Research Festival

, by DCEG Staff

In September 2016, DCEG investigators and fellows presented research findings and chaired symposia during the NIH Research Festival.

Alison Van Dyke

Stephen J. Chanock, M.D., DCEG Director, chaired the symposium, “Making sense of Greek letters and too many numbers in the age of big data,” during which Jianxin Shi, Ph.D., senior investigator in the Biostatistics Branch, gave a talk titled, “Somatic genomic landscape of lung adenocarcinoma and its association with clinical features,” and Jessica Petrick, Ph.D., M.P.H., postdoctoral fellow in the Metabolic Epidemiology Branch, presented her work on “Body mass index trajectories and risk of esophageal and gastric cardia adenocarcinoma: A pooled analysis.” In a separate symposium, Martha Linet, M.D., M.P.H., senior investigator in the Radiation Epidemiology Branch, presented a talk titled, “Childhood environmental exposures and risk of cancer development.” In addition, a number of DCEG fellows presented posters highlighting their research.

Postdoctoral fellow Alison Van Dyke, M.D., Ph.D., in the Infections and Immunoepidemiology Branch, was invited to participate in the prestigious NIH Future Research Leaders Conference (FRLC). The FRLC is sponsored by the Chief Officer for NIH Scientific Workforce Diversity to promote knowledge and awareness about scientific career opportunities in the NIH Intramural Research Program. This was the second year for this special event, which brings fellows and early-career scientists from the intramural program and extramural research centers to the NIH to share their research and network with peers and the scientific leadership of the NIH. Dr. Van Dyke presented her research which combines her training in epidemiology and pathology to bring new insight into the challenges of identifying the characteristics of lung scarring and their effects on lung cancer risk.

Another highlight of the Festival was the announcement of the winners of the 2017 NIH Fellows Awards for Research Excellence (FARE), which come with a $1,000 travel award to present research at a scientific meeting. FARE winners from DCEG included:

Amy Moore, Ph.D.

Hannah Oh, Sc.D., M.P.H.

Jessica Petrick, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Wei Jie Seow, M.D., Sc.D.

Guoqin Yu, Ph.D., M.S.

Han Zhang, Ph.D.

< Older Post

Celebrating 15 Years of the Cancer Genomics Research Laboratory

Newer Post >

Choonsik Lee Appointed REB Dosimetry Unit Head