Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Laura Beane Freeman Elected Chair of the Management Committee of EPICOH

, by DCEG Staff

Laura Beane Freeman

Laura Beane Freeman, Ph.D.

In October 2021, Laura Beane Freeman, Ph.D., senior investigator in the Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch (OEEB), was elected to a three-year term as chair of the Management Committee of Epidemiology in Occupational Health Conference (EPICOH), the largest occupational epidemiologic society; the Management Committee oversees the activities of the society.

The 28th annual EPICOH conference, “From the Workplace to the Population: Exposure and Prevention,” is being conducted virtually October 25-28, 2021. Dr. Beane Freeman served as scientific chair for the conference program.

Below are the OEEB investigators who will deliver oral presentations, participate in and lead symposia, and present at pre-conference workshops.

Oral Presentations

Stella Koutros, Ph.D, M.P.H., tenure-track investigator, “Diesel exhaust exposure and somatic mutations in bladder tumors.”

Shuai Xie, Ph.D., M.P.H., postdoctoral fellow, “Development of task-specific endotoxin concentrations for agricultural activities using meta-regression of published data.”

Vicky Chang, Ph.D., M.P.H., postdoctoral fellow, “Permethrin use and circulating immunologic markers: A longitudinal investigation in the Biomarkers of Exposure and Effect in Agriculture study.”

Rapid Fire Presentations

Pabitra Josse, M.S., occupational exposure assessment specialist, “Collecting real-time self-reported information on intermittent agricultural activities using smartphones.”

Sarah Locke, M.S., M.S.P.H., Assistant Branch Chief, “Evaluating approaches designed to increase sensitivity of capturing work task information in a multi-center hospital-based case-control study in Asia.”

Symposium Presentation

Melissa Friesen, Ph.D., senior investigator, “SOCcer 2.0 and SOCcer in the Field: Moving from coding occupation after data collection to coding in real time by study subjects.”

Oral Sessions Chairs

Dr. Koutros: Specific Occupations

Jonathan Hofmann, Ph.D., M.P.H.: Biomarkers

Dr. Friesen: Sex and Gender

Debra Silverman, Sc.D.: Cancer

Richard Remigio, Ph.D., M.S., M.Phil.: Heat and Climate Change

Dr. Beane Freeman: Symposium Organizer, "AGRICOH: A Consortium of Agricultural Cohorts and Plenary keynote David Michaels on COVID-19 as an occupational disease"