Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Researchers and Collaborators for Chernobyl Research

National Cancer Institute Research Staff

Chernobyl Research Program, Radiation Epidemiology Branch (REB)

Program Support
  • Kathleen Stine, M.B.A.

Current Collaborators

United States

  • Stewart Finch, M.D. – Hematology
  • Robert McConnell, M.D. – Endocrinology
  • Robert Reiss, M.D. – Hematology
  • Lydia Zablotska, M.D., Ph.D. – Epidemiology

Research Institute of Endocrinology & Metabolism, Kyiv, Ukraine

  • Mykola Tronko, M.D., Ph.D. – Director
  • Valeriy Tereshchenko, M.D., Ph.D. – Project Director, Epidemiology
  • Tatiana Bogdanova, Ph.D. – Pathology
  • Viktor Shpak – Data Management

Republican Research Center of Radiation Medicine & Human Ecology, Gomel, Belarus

  • Alexander Rozhko, M.D., Ph.D. – Director
  • Eldar Nadyrov, M.D., Ph.D. – Deputy Director, Pathology
  • Vasilina Yauseyenka, Ph.D. – Epidemology
  • Victor Minenko, Ph.D. – Dosimetry
  • Ilya Veyalkin, Ph.D. – Epidemiology

Research Center for Radiation Medicine, Academy of Medical Sciences of Ukraine, Kyiv

  • Dimitry A. Bazyka, M.D. – Director
  • Anatoly Ye Romanenko, M.D. – Honorary Director
  • Natalia A. Gudzenko, M.D., Ph.D. – Epidemiology
  • Vadim V. Chumak, Ph.D. – Dosimetry
  • Yuriy Belayev – Data Management

In Memoriam

Dr. Elaine Ron (1943-2010), NCI, provided extraordinary leadership and helped shape and oversee the NCI-Chernobyl program.

Dr. Geoffrey Howe (1943-2006), Columbia University, made invaluable contributions.

Dr. Daniel Fink (1948-2007), Columbia University, was instrumental in designing the protocol for analyzing laboratory samples.

Dr. Gilbert Beebe (1912-2003), NCI, Dr. Jacob Robbins (1923-2008), NIDDK, and Dr.Terry Thomas (1948-2002), NCI, were involved from the earliest days following the accident and continued to provide scientific input until the time of their respective deaths.