Skip to main content
An official website of the United States government

Fellows Present at 2024 NIH Postbac Poster Day

, by Elise Tookmanian, Ph.D.

DCEG Presenters at the 2024 NIH Postbac Poster Day.

From left to right: (Top row) Atuahene Adu-Gyamfi, Sherifa Akinniyi, Michelle Antony, Kara Barnao, (middle row) Abigail Dennis, Julia Francis, Alexander Kane, (bottom row) Mona Miraftab, Caroline Pruitt, Elelta Sisay, and Joshuah Yon.

In May, eleven DCEG postbaccalaureate fellows presented at the 2024 NIH Postbac Poster Day, sponsored by the NIH Office of Intramural Training and Education. Posters were judged by teams of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, clinical fellows, and staff scientists/staff clinicians, and four were recognized with an award.

Atuahene Adu-Gyamfi, B.S., Recipient, NIH Outstanding Poster Award
Functional analysis of the novel GWAS signal on chromosome 21q for childhood Burkitt's lymphoma
Mentors: Ludmila Prokunina-Olsson, Ph.D., and Sam Mbulaiteye, MBChB, M.Phil., M.Med.

Sherifa Akinniyi, B.S.
Genome-first approach to understanding the prevalence and associated phenotypes of individuals with germline TERT variants
Mentors: Kelvin C. de Andrade, Ph.D., M.Sc., and Sharon A. Savage, M.D.

Michelle Antony, B.S.
Massively parallel report assay reveals functional variants, putative upstream regulators, and target genes influencing lung cancer susceptibility
Mentor: Jiyeon Choi, Ph.D., M.S.

Kara Barnao, B.S., M.S., Recipient, NIH Outstanding Poster Award
Characterization of co-occurring clonal hematopoiesis to identify high risk clones associated with hematologic malignancy risk
Mentor: Mitchell Machiela, Sc.D., M.P.H.

Abigail J. Dennis, M.S.
Establishing pathogenicity of noncoding CDKN2B single nucleotide variants in high-risk melanoma families
Mentor: Kevin Brown, Ph.D.

Julia Francis, M.P.H., Recipient, NIH Outstanding Poster Award
Sex differences in anti-EBV antibody responses
Mentor: Sarah S. Jackson, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Alexander Kane, B.A.
Investigating the cell-type specific regulation of IRF4 and its role in lung cancer via a lung cancer risk-associated pleiotropic variant
Mentor: Jiyeon Choi, Ph.D., M.S.

Mona Miraftab, B.S.
The Sherlock framework for pathological classification of lung cancer in never-smokers
Mentors: Maria Teresa Landi, M.D., Ph.D., and Phuc Hoang, Ph.D.

Caroline N. Pruitt, M.P.H.
Carcinogenic industrial air pollution and breast cancer risk in the NIH-AARP Diet and Health Study
Mentors: Jessica Madrigal, Ph.D., M.S., and Rena Jones, Ph.D., M.S.

Elelta Sisay, B.A., Recipient, NIH Outstanding Poster Award
Optimizing HiChIP workflow to assess chromatin interactions of lung cancer risk-associated variants upon smoking-related BaP exposure
Mentor: Jiyeon Choi, Ph.D., M.S.

Joshuah Yon, B.S.
Partitioning cutaneous melanoma heritability using UV-dependent multi-omic melanocyte cell states
Mentor: Kevin Brown, Ph.D.